Division of Public and Behavioral Health Clark Regional Behavioral Health Policy Board

MINUTES

DATE: October 10, 2019 **TIME:** 1 p.m. to Adjournment

Meeting Videoconference

LOCATION: Grant Sawyer State Office Building

555 E. Washington Ave., Las Vegas, NV

89101

TELECONFERENCE: 1-415-655-0003 US TOLL / Access Code: 803 191 743

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Assemblywoman Connie Munk Angelo Aragon Capt. Nita Schmidt Charlene Frost Dan Musgrove Dr. Lesley Dickson Jamie Ross Jaqueline Harris

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT

Dr. James Jobin Dr. Joseph Iser Dr. Ken McKay

STAFF & GUESTS PRESENT

Ariana Saunders, Behavioral Health Coordinator Michelle Guerra Chaz Fernandez Robert Durette Jerry Reeves Trey Delap Brian Reeder

- 1. Introductions, Announcements and Roll Call Charlene Frost takes roll call; quorum met.
- 2. Public Comment None.
- 3. Approval of Minutes from August 22, 2019 Meeting Ms. Frost asks for spelling correction of Assemblywoman Munk (not Monk). With noted correction(s), Jaqueline Harris motions to accept minutes; Dan Musgrove seconds. All in favor say, 'Aye,' none opposed/abstained. Motion passes.
- 4. Update on Regional Coordination and Coordination with other regional behavioral health boards Ariana Saunders gave updates on events taking place in the near future, including Crisis Now Summit, and Open Beds. She also said the regional coordinators agreed to meet monthly as to share information on resources and keep up to date on information available. A data analyst has been hired, who will report directly to Ms. Saunders. In respect to Grant funding, Jamie Ross spoke on the Overdose to Data Action Grant, which the County received funding from.
- 5. Presentation by Comagine Health Health Information Exchange Dr. Jerry Reeves, Medical Director for Comagine Health, and Healthy Nevada, the Health Information Exchange. Dr. Reeves explained the scope of work done by Comagine Health, who they partner with and how various funding keeps their services going, and medical education. Dr. Reeves then fielded questions from the Board. Questions were in relation to: Patient care including those with medical and behavioral health needs; pharmacy information; Legal 2000 data (according to AB85); Open Beds program.
- 6. Election of Chair for the Clark Regional Behavioral Health Policy Board Ms. Frost notes they are accepting nominations for the Chair position of the Board. Ms. Harris nominates Charlene Frost for Chair of the CRBHPB. Capt. Nita Schmidt (via phone) also nominates Ms. Frost for Chair. No further discussion. Ms. Frost asks all in favor say 'Aye,' none opposed. Ms. Frost abstained. Motion passes.
- 7. Discussion and Approval of Primary Priorities for the Board for 2019

 Ms. Frost began by identifying list is same as a previous list, but used as a jumping off point to continue. Ms. Frost said an issue she noticed is addressing workforce development, and the licensing boards and the lack of communication with the boards, and would like to work with different stakeholders on trying to come to a solution to have a better working relationship. Ms. Frost if any board members had suggestions as to what should be a priority. Ms. Munk agrees "reprioritizing" items is a possibility, shifting priorities as the board moves along. Ms. Frost asks Mr. Musgrove to lead a group to work on items 6 and 7; Mr. Musgrove agrees. Ms. Harris, Michele Guerra and Ms. Munk agree to work in group with Mr. Musgrove.
- 8. Discussion and Approval of Bylaws
 - Ms. Frost notes bylaws from various boards/groups were reviewed and considered for establishing a set of bylaws for the Clark Regional Behavioral Health Policy Board. Ms. Frost states she is willing to entertain a motion for approval of bylaws as presented to the board. Dan Musgrove motions the bylaws as presented be adopted; Ms. Harris seconds the motion. Ms. Ross has a question regarding Section 3.6, data repository. Ms. Saunders notes this information is in as it is law, per NRS. All in favor say, 'Aye,' none opposed/abstained. Motion carries.
- Discussion of Board Candidates and Approval of Appointments and Re-Appointments of Board Positions (as per AB76, section 3, subsection 8)
 Ms. Frost points out due to recent change in law, changes have been made as to how persons are appointed/reappointed to the Board. Ms. Frost notes Dr. Lesley Dickson, Dr. Ken McKay, and

herself, are the three members to be reappointed. Dr. Joseph Iser is retiring, and his position will need to be filled. Mr. Musgrove motions that Dr. Dickson, Dr. McKay and Ms. Frost be reappointed to their respective positions; Assemblywoman Munk seconds. No discussion; all in favor say, 'Aye,' none opposed/abstained. Motion passes. Ariana Saunders, Clark Regional Behavioral Health Coordinator, clarifies with the three positions abstaining from vote, quorum would be met with the five votes. Ms. Frost then brings forward the (currently vacant) position of private/public insurer, a position to potentially to be filled by Michelle Guerra. Ms. Guerra is present and fields questions. Ms. Guerra details her resume for the Board. Ms. Harris makes motion to appoint Ms. Guerra as private/public insurer to the Board; Angelo Aragon seconds. All in favor say, 'Aye,' none opposed/abstained. Motion passes.

10. Discussion and Approval of Annual Report Outline

Ms. Saunders notes item brought up in earlier discussion. No hard report released, yet.

11. Discussion and Approval of Future Meeting Dates and Topics

Mr. Musgrove notes as the bylaws call for a vice-chair for the Board, this should be placed as an item for the next meeting. Also, for a representative of Medicaid to be present for an agenda item at next meeting, as well as a workgroup report. Ms. Frost asks for a standing agenda item for member and agency updates. Dr. Dickson suggests representatives from NAMI and other mental health providers give presentations. Next meeting date determined for Dec. 3, 2019 at 2 p.m.

12. Public Comment

Troy Delap makes those in attendance aware today is Mental Health Awareness Day. Mr. Delap gives stats regarding mental health in Clark County in relation to the Nation.

13. Adjournment – Meeting adjourned at 2:45 p.m.